Tokyo’s Best Cherry Blossoms

It’s no secret that the cherry blossoms in Japan are phenomenal. Sakura season is without a doubt my favourite time of year. Even when we started discussing moving out of Japan and back to the states, I was adamant that we stay for at least one more Spring, so I could see the cherry blossoms. Now, that fleeting season has come and gone, and I stayed very true to my word. I went out to see a TON of cherry blossoms this year (just check my Instagram).

Since I have gone all aroud Tokyo to see it’s blossoms, I thought I would make a post listing my all time and absolute favourite cherry blossom locations. Granted the entire city turns pink and you will be able to see them on any street corner, but these are my top picks for a really breathe-taking sakura experience.

1. Meguro River

Starting right outside of Naka-Meguro Station and going all the way to Meguro Station, the Meguro River is completely lined with cherry blossoms. The walking paths along the riverside take you right under the canopy of flowers for a completely magical experience. The Naka-Meguro also has a great cherry blossom festival in its surrounding hip and trendy shops and restaurants!

2. Shinjuku Gyoen

Shinjuku’s park is one of the more famous locations to see the cherry blossoms, but comes with two slight hitches: There is a (very small) admission fee, and you can’t bring alcohol into the park. This deters some people from wanting to have their hanami there, but I view it as a bonus. (No obnoxious drunks like you may find in, say, Yoyogi Park). Additionally, the flowers in Shinjuku Gyoen are my favourite, with a variety of gorgeous flower types.

3. Inokashira Park

Somehow less popular than the other famous parks, Inokashira was actually where we had our hanami picnic this year. It was magnificent: In one of the coolest areas of Tokyo, Kichijoji, but somehow less crowded at peak viewing season than the other parks. Inokashira Park is most well known for it’s iconic swan boats, which look beautiful paddling around and under the flowers surrounding the lake.

There are my personal top three picks. I’d highly recommend them to anyone thinking of travelling to Japan around cherry blossom time. It’s an unforgettable sight no matter where you go to see them!

One thought on “Tokyo’s Best Cherry Blossoms

Leave a comment