Hakone Open-Air Museum

Hakone is a beautiful and tranquil little grandma town of onsens, cafes, and museums. In other words, Katherine Paradise. Really considering why I don’t live there. My little getaway to the mountains only really involved one exciting outing, since most museums surprisingly closed at 4 and I was only really there for one day. Fortunately during that one day a lot of time was spent at the Hakone Open-Air Museum. It’s really more of a sculpture park than anything else, and it’s absolutely gorgeous.

Beautiful green gardens with beautiful artistic pieces of all shapes and sizes woven in to the scenery. Even though it was a public holiday, the museum wasn’t extraordinarily busy and I got to stroll around in an uninterrupted happy, tranquil daze.

This was my favourite sculpture in the museum, and this kid came to photobomb at the perfect moment. It makes my shot so much better.

I feel I relate to this piece especially.

There was a little Picasso exhibit in the museum as well, displaying a number of his sketches and paintings and other various works. No photos were allowed, of course, but it was very interesting

There was also a tiny foot bath with oranges floating in the warm water, making everything smell like beautiful citrus

Also there were big awesome egg seats/sculptures for children/us to play on.

If you’re going to Hakone, I really recommend this place. Callum was hesitant to come with me because he’s “not an art person” (what does that mean even) but he admits he still really enjoyed it. The walk is well worth the admission fee.

 

2 thoughts on “Hakone Open-Air Museum

Leave a comment